One’s own little effort …not quite Sissinghurst

October 26, 2012

Here are some photographs of my own garden (the better bits) in October.


One sees at once that the regimen for next year must be earlier staking, better staking and much MORE of it than seems necessary in the comparative calm of February.

Flowers that are good value for October are Aster Frikartii Munch, Salvia Involucrata, Dahlia Blue Boy, Dahlia Nuit d’Ete, Salvia Cerro Potosi, Verbena Bonariensis and Cosmos bipinnatus ‘Dazzler’ …all very easy.

12 Responses to “One’s own little effort …not quite Sissinghurst”

  1. leoneruth said

    Once again,you have brightened my life.What a wonderful garden you have created.
    It is amazing that you have any time to write.
    I could easily lose myself in the beauty and tranquillity of this remarkable garden.
    Thank you, again, for sharing this with us.
    Fondest regards, Leone

  2. Liz said

    I am so envious Victoria! Your garden is beautiful – and so much of it. We haven’t got a patch on this but the garden that we do have, we love very much. After such a ghastly year it’s been very hard to have decent gardens although I know some people have managed it – usually because they have paid gardeners! It’s lovely of you to share this with us.

  3. Miriam said

    Dear Mrs Clayton, I have just reread Stormy Weather and I have enjoyed it very much, even more than on the first reading. I do hope you are working on another novel. What a lovely garden you have! I don’t know anything about gardening, but your garden inspires me to learn about gardening and make something of my garden. (Il faut cultiver son jardin…) Thank you ever so much for all the hours of enjoyment you have given me with your lovely books! Kind regards, Miriam (Haarlem, Holland)

  4. Virginia Jones said

    Dear Mrs. Clayton: As an American reader I have struggled to find your books as soon as they are published and have loved everyone (I still have copies of many) athough I do have some which I’ve enjoyed more than others. But STORMY WEATHER has escaped my clutches and although I keep fussing (on Amazon) about the lack of hard copies for readers my efforts don’t seem to have achieved anything. Having just written (on Amazon) that it stil isn’t available over here I just read that it is now for sale via KINDLE. But I don’t have a KINDLE, and I’m not going to buy one. I love books — their appearance, their heft, their smell, their feel but most of all their contents. I have no interest in a plastic gadget. Someday I hope that the publishers will relent but fear that instead they will further curtail their activities (and yes finances play a part) which is a real shame. I’m too old for the digital age!

    Your garden and house are gorgeous. Your writing is wonderful.

    Thanks. VCJones

    • Miriam said

      Dear VC Jones, you can download a book from Kindle on your normal computer, you don’t need a Kindle to read it. I have read Stormy Weather like that, on my computer. Kind regards, Miriam (Holland)

      • Can you possibly explain to fairly incompetent computer users (in UK) how WE can unload from Kindle onto our computers? I, too, can’t bear the idea of a Kindle and long to read Stormy Weather so your help would be invaluable!

      • Oh dear, I’m ashamed to confess I have absolutely no idea how to unload from Kindle on to a computer. I’m a total idiot when it comes to pressing buttons of any kind. There! I feel better now I’ve owned up. BUT I do have a Kindle myself and I love it! Even someone as dozy as I am has no trouble operating it. What I say is …of course we want to go on having solid tangible books until our dying day but it isn’t either/ or. We can have both! And a Paper White Kindle is the best thing on a train or in bed. It’s light in both senses. You can hold it easily at any angle you choose and read it with the light switched off at any hour of the night. If you’re an insomniac like me and don’t want to waste time fretting about some miniscule problem that is torture at 2am you can read to your heart’s content without waking your husband, lover, grandchild, dog or whomever you’re sleeping with. The minute I start reading I’m completely unaware that it isn’t made from trees. Honestly! And I’m the most retrospective, nostalgic, romantic, modernist hater in the world. If it isn’t Early Georgian I take against it. There you are. Having grumbling about Kindles just as I grumble about the nastiness of cars, roads, planes, supermarkets, television programming, country and western, burgers, electric guitars …you name it, I don’t like it … I’m a convert and you know they’re the preachiest. Sorry! Tomorrow I shall get my husband to explain how to download from Kindle to computer, never fear.

  5. Virginia Jones said

    Unfortunately American readers are not allowed to access KINDLE books available in the UK, and I don’t have a KINDLE anyway, nor do I ever plan to purchase one. I LOVE books in the hand, before my eyes, and for many other reasons. I’ve checked out Amazon.com books and apparently I could download to a KINDLE there as of December 15th (from memory) but there is no indication that you can down load to a computer. In any event I normally read for an hour in bed before falling asleep, hard to do with a computer, so I want a REAL book. I really want to read STORMY WEATHER and feel almost insulted that the publishers don’t understand that there are those of us (many of us in fact) who do prefer real books.

    Thanks for the advice and taking the time to respond.

  6. leoneruth said

    Merry Christmas Victoria.Best wishes to you and and your beautiful family and may you have great happiness,peace and joy.
    I have just purchased Dance with Me on Kindle.and am looking forward to reading it again.
    We have a 10 hour train journey to Sydney on Sunday,so reading will be a wonderful way to pass some of the time.We are having Christmas with our sons and their families…such joy.
    Fondest regards , Leone

    • Dear Leone Thank you so much for your Christmas message. I send heartfelt reciprocation. It’s bucketing with rain here at the moment but I love the effect of bare branches against the opaque sky and the lawns fizz with greenness. No sound but for raindrops falling on the dormer roofs (I’m in the attic) and the clack of my keyboard, plus the friendly random creaking of a very old house. I might be quite alone in the world. Very different from your train journey! May you all have good health, good rest, good fun and beauty to gladden the eye. Very best wishes Victoria

      Victoria Clayton

  7. Annegret said

    Dear Victoria,

    from the roadside we send you our best wishes for a very Merry Christmas and a Happy – sunny – New Year!

    Annegret & Co.

    So good luck came, and on my roof did light,
    Like noiseless snow, or as the dew of night:
    Not all at once, but gently, as the trees
    Are by the sunbeams tickled by degrees.

    Robert Herrick, Hesperides (1648).

  8. Annegret said

    … and musical greetings here:

    Have a wonderful Christmas!

Leave a Reply

